The Arsonist

Molly Mavity is not a normal teenage girl. For one thing, her father is a convicted murderer, and his execution date is fast approaching. For another, Molly refuses to believe that her mother is dead, and she waits for the day when they’ll be reunited . . . despite all evidence that this will never happen.

Pepper Yusef is not your average teenage boy. A Kuwaiti immigrant with epilepsy, serious girl problems, and the most useless seizure dog in existence, he has to write a series of essays over the summer . . . or fail out of school.

And Ava Dreyman—the brave and beautiful East German resistance fighter whose murder at seventeen led to the destruction of the Berlin Wall—is unlike anyone you’ve met before.

When Molly gets a package leading her to Pepper, they’re tasked with solving a decades-old mystery: find out who killed Ava, back in 1989. Using Ava’s diary for clues, Molly and Pepper realize there’s more to her life—and death—than meets the eye. Someone is lying to them. And someone out there is guiding them along, desperate for answers.

At turns heart-racing and heartbreaking, The Arsonist is an intricate tapestry—of love, loss, and the mysterious connections between us all.

The Arsonist will be published in August 2017. 

Check out the full cover below!

THE SACRED LIES OF MINNOW BLY

With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.

And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.


THE SACRED LIES OF MINNOW BLY is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.

Available at: Indiebound --  Amazon  --  Barnes and Noble  --  Goodreads

**You can also order a signed and/or personalized copy of the book through Auntie's Bookstore (our great independent bookstore in Spokane). In the check-out page, just write what you'd like on your book in the "Other comments" box at the bottom.

Praise for the sacred lies of minnow bly

* "Suspense, dread, and hope intermingle in Oakes’s charged, page-turning debut."Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

"In beautiful and harrowing prose, Stephanie Oakes’ debut peels back the veneer of fairytales to reveal their inherent darkness."Booklist, STARRED REVIEW

"The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly marries mystery and philosophy, creating a truly thought-provoking and spectacular story.” —VOYA, Perfect 10/STARRED REVIEW

"The Scared Lies of Minnow Bly is a psychological thriller, a commentary on our justice system, and a must read book."—Hypable

"A page-turner in the truest form of the phrase."—Bustle

"A profoundly thoughtful and meaningful read...if you care about girls, you should read it. And since everyone should care about girls, everyone should read it."—Teen Librarian Toolbox

"The unravelling of the mystery and the timing of the revelations is masterful, culminating in an explosively rewarding ending. Unflinching, unrelenting and visceral, this one has undeniable adult crossover appeal."—The Globe and Mail

"Based on Grimm’s fairy tale, “The Handless Maiden,” the powerful, fluent writing; engrossing and well-layered mystery; compelling characters; and provocative ideas about family, faith, honesty, loyalty, and friendship are engaging....Ellen Hopkins devotees and fans of The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams will seek this one out."—School Library Journal

"Dark and...hugely involving."—Kirkus Reviews


9781460750780.jpg

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly was published in Australia and New Zealand from Harper Collins. Find it in Australia and New Zealand at: Angus & Robertson  --  Booktopia  --  Bookworld  --  Boomerang Books